The Writing Center is designed with the idea that the student will have two opportunities to get instructor feedback (and peer feedback, if enabled) on their writing prior to submitting the final draft for grading. But there are situations where the instructor needs to have the student resubmit the final draft in spite of two previous reviews. For this purpose, we have the "Reset" button. This also works on earlier drafts, of course. But the final draft has two possible scenarios, depending on your preferences and level of communication with students.
1) The first scenario is to reset the final draft without grading it. This puts the student back into the Second Draft Edit state. No instructor comments are shared with the student in this scenario. When the student next visits the Writing Center, they will find the Second Draft ready for editing, with any prior review comments visible on the screen for guidance.
2) The second scenario is to reset the final draft after grading. In this case, you would submit the final draft grade and comments and communicate to the student that you want them to re-do the final draft. Once you know that the student has seen the comments, you can then do the reset and have them resubmit the final draft. Instructor comments and the original grade are created and then destroyed in this scenario. The system does not notify the instructor that the student has seen the comments, so this communication must happen externally.
NOTE: If you prefer to just CHANGE the student's final draft grade and comments, you may do so. You will then be notified that you have a new review to complete.
Below are screenshots of what to expect in each of the scenarios described above.